All reviews of ‘Until the Fat Man Sings’

5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT – a great read for all, – 17 Nov 2013

As this was the first book by this author I did not know what to expect, but realising he was Irish thought it would be a great tale written with humour and I was not disappointed. If this book was based on the author’s life experiences – what a man! It is a book full of intrigue and expect the unexpected. It was a most enjoyable book and so I do hope there will be many more to come and so William V. Kelly start writing!!

5.0 out of 5 stars A grand build up story, – 29 Oct 2013

By Anonymous

Over worked and practically ruined business man. Though left weak and perturbed, finds new life in revenge, violence and vendetta.
Thoroughly enjoyable build up of a novel with an explosive outcome. I do look forward to a follow up from this powerfully driven author.

5.0 out of 5 stars Until the fat man sings, – 18 Sep 2013
By Jane
Not read it yet. My husband and I met the author in Parga harbour when he was parking his yacht! He told us about this book so I bought it! Will read it on my next holiday. Couldn’t post review without stars….. I’m sure it will be good!
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic flowing read from a first time author, – 9 Sep 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed this book from cover to cover! Fast moving with plenty of twists. Waiting for the sequel!! What adventures will Mike and his gorgeous wife get up to next!!
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read!, – 3 Jun 2013
Recommended to us by a fellow sailor. Very gripping and we cant wait for the sequel to come out! Great.
4.0 out of 5 stars A highly enjoyable story, – 27 May 2013
By Loche

Mounting suspense, a believable scenario, and a final twist add up to a highly enjoyable story with a good dose of humor!

5.0 out of 5 stars Until the Fat Man Sings, – 14 May 2013
The characters were entirely believable and the whole story was brought to life for me. I was left wanting more about Mike Balmayne – there is certainly plenty of scope for a sequel. So come on Mr Kelly get writing!
4.0 out of 5 stars John’s Review, – 19 April 2013
By JF
Not a bad start to a budding authors ‘career. Keeps you interested to the last. Perhaps there is a sequel on the horizon?
5.0 out of 5 stars A clever, witty read, – 21 Mar 2013
While I thought this book a little slow to start (merely the first couple of pages), I recommend sticking with it! Winding it’s way around the world, this tale keeps you gripped to the end and onwards. Like other reviewers have said, this book needs a sequel. Mike Balmayne is a character with a lot of scope for future works and he’s off to a cracking start with “Until the Fat Man Sings”.
The twists and turns of the book are enthralling and it all builds to an astounding climax.
Great read, very much looking forward to more from William V. Kelly.
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping and highly enjoyable story, well worth the money, – 9 Mar 2013
I came across this book through the ‘customers who bought this book also bought’ recommendations and, liking the description, decided to take a punt. Well I’ve very glad I did as I thoroughly enjoyed it. The storyline is intriguing and it really is one of those books of which you have to read just one more chapter before putting down – if indeed you can! Well worth the money, much better written than many books I’ve paid significantly more for and, for a change on Kindle, free from distracting typos and errors. I will definitely be looking out for the follow-up.
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to reflect on, – 28 Feb 2013

It was one of those books that when you finish the read you think about the story and say “Now that was very clever”. This story was not just another piece of fiction you had trouble believing. The main character had life and felt real. By the time he was getting himself into trouble again, you are almost shouting at him, “Don’t do it, You Fool!” Come on, Mike, tell us more.

5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read!, – 25 Feb 2013
This is a gripping story of a principled and resourceful Irishman, supported by his long-suffering Cornish wife, who becomes drawn into contact with international criminal activity. The style is classic adventure writing with gradual build-up of suspense to a blistering finale. The author weaves his tale through the offshore oil industry, flying his own plane and yachting. It is a “must read”.
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it, – 21 Feb 2013
A good story with some unusual twists to the readers expectations. I gave it a four because it is a good read but also because I see potential for a sequel and further development of the key characters , I look forward to see the writers next work.
5.0 out of 5 stars The fat man sang, – 15 Feb 2013
By D. Watt (Scotland)
Great story, a page turning read. Managed to inhale the story over 24hrs and loved the humour. I hope the next book isn’t far away
5.0 out of 5 stars Until the Fat Man Sings, – 6 Feb 2013
Having heard about this book being in the pipe-line for some considerable time I had no idea what to expect. Not being one of your average book-worms it takes something intriguing with a good story-line and some ‘ducking and diving’ to hold my attention. And this has it. I read it cover to cover in two outings.
The introduction of his family, wife son and daughter along with his professional life style and commitments is highly plausible as someone who works hard plays hard and exudes an honesty which he wears on his sleeve and expects the same of others. Unfortunately in the high octane powerhouse of business, legit or otherwise, honesty can be as real as a Fata Mor’gana.
In the midst of some well earned family time he discovers just how much his honesty of others is a very scarce if not non existent commodity.
His comfortable middle/upper class world suddenly collapses around him leaving him and his family very close to ‘skid-row’.
With his back against a seemingly immovable wall his keen Irish brain and past naval experience which built his successful business and provided all the trappings of comfort for his family is about to be played out across Europe.
The story will keep you riveted to the very last chapter.
Whilst the book flows well from cover to cover the story-line leaves ample opportunity for a sequel to be spawned from this thrilling yarn.
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking good yarn!, – 1 Feb 2013
By Amazon regular (Portugal)
There is little a man wouldn’t do for the happiness and security of his loved ones. When respectable, successful, hardworking, high-living businessman Mike Balmayne sees everything he has worked hard for all his life snatched away from him, he reacts with surprising courage and initiative. But beyond his insouciant Irish charm and good humour, the affable Mike has hidden depths. And Mike has friends – good friends. This is a well-paced and well-written thiller which sees this ex-navy man take to the air and the sea in pursuit of rough justice and revenge. This book is ‘unputdownable’ and the writer takes us all the way with Balmayne, to some exotic locations which the author clearly knows well. The characters are well-drawn and credible, the dialogue sharp and the action gripping. Anyone who has lived in Portugal will laugh out loud over the crack about the local police. This is an engaging plot and makes a thoroughly enjoyable read, especially if you are lying in the sun, on the deck of your yacht, observing the position of the sun over your yardarm and working up a thirst for your first drink of the day – or sitting on the train to work and imagining yourself there! A good first outing from a talented writer from whom I do hope we shall see more.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s